The Department of Water Affairs (DWA), is responsible for the sustainable supply of useable water in South Africa. This water is not only used for residential and agricultural purposes but also to provide water for industrial processes, the mining industries and cooling water for power stations. South Africa is divided into 19 water catchment areas. This case study focuses on the Usutu-Vaal government water scheme (GWS). In Mpumalanga close to Standerton, which supplies water to Sasol and four power stations – Tutuka, Matla, Kriel and Duvha. Water is also transferred from Matla to Kendal power station… (more)